The Beauty of the Simplicity

I like silence, or just the sounds of nature, black and white photography, and the beauty of a bird singing it’s evening song.   I guess you could say  that I like things in their most honest  state.  Right at this moment I am listening to the crickets chirping or whatever it is that they do.  I would miss that sound if I never heard it again, That sound eases me to sleep.  Some people need the radio or t.v., I am lulled to sleep by the rhythmic sound of the cricket the master tempo keeper.

There is a certain elegance to simplicity.  When I see great design, I respond to it.  When I hear an outstanding musical score, it transports me to another place and time.  I think it’s a very human trait to want beauty and serenity in our lives.  I guess that’s why I just keep on painting, listening to music and designing gardens.  I can’t bring myself to devote my whole life to my job.  I am not a linear person.  Meeting quotas is not what I am cut out to do.  Accountants would not be happy with me if they had to quantify my life!  I am more like a landscape with a river running through it.  I don’t think in blips and sound bytes.  I don’t even set an alarm, I don’t own a smartphone and sometimes I just take my reliable old pentex film slr camera out on a photo shoot and choose one lens and that’s it.  Just like that I’m out the door on a new adventure.  I like the idea that I have either 12, 24, or 36 chances and that is all to get the shot I want.  Having a finite amount of chances  encourages you to focus.  As I said I like simplicity.

Leave a Reply

